Stages of Grief


Everyone goes through the Stages of Grief in the grieving and mourning process. But grieving is not solely about Bereavement, it could include Separation, Divorce, Redundancy and more.

Not everyone goes through every stage and the order may vary. Clients come to me because they do not understand what is happening to them, or their emotions. By understanding the stages of grief will consequently help a person struggling with their feelings.

The most commonly referred to stages of grief are in the works of Elisabeth Kubler Ross and David Kessler. These are the 5 Stages of Grief, they are: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance.

Not just Bereavement

Bereavement is the usual assumption when discussing the 5 Stages of Grief, but they can equally be related to other forms of loss, such as divorce, separation, redundancy. We grieve for what we had if we were the person who did not want divorce or separation. Coming to terms with redundancy can be difficult because of perceived rejection, even if we could see it coming. We see the redundancy as a loss (of job).

The Result

As we spend time together during our sessions we will explore the stages of grief. I am likely to point these out to you at the time. The counselling process should help you find inner peace. Your acceptance of the process and coming to terms with your emotions will help you move forward. This may take just a few sessions, while for other people it may take more counselling sessions or more time.

We my touch on the subjects of Bereavement, Depression, Grief & Loss as they are intertwined and consequently discussed in our counselling process.

Having been through the stages of grief the result is moving on with your life and creating a new role. It does not mean you will forget the past.

widow suffering from bereavement needs counselling to help her through the stages of grief

The Stages of Grief

The 5 Stages of Grief are:

Denial – This can’t be happening to me.

Anger – Why is this happening? Who is to blame?

Bargaining – Make this not happen, then in return I will …

Depression – I’m too sad to do anything.

Acceptance – I’m at peace with what happened.

Some people refer to the seven stages of grief. These are Shock, Denial, Bargaining, Guilt, Anger, Depression and Acceptance. There isn’t too much difference. with this in mind I will use the five stages in my work with you.

mother suffering bereavement, daughter who had stressed