bereaved widow needs bereavement counselling
mother suffering bereavement, daughter who had stressed


I have a great deal of experience in bereavement counselling and would class it as my number one activity and skill. I have been a bereavement counsellor for more than 8 years.  You will benefit from this as it helps me understand most situations and what it takes to move forward with your life.

Everyone experiences bereavement of someone close at sometime. Whether it is a parent, spouse or partner it will be disruptive to your life. We would not expect to outlive our offspring so if one of them dies it can be hard to accept. Death of a relation or a friend occasionally impacts on our lives.

Clients come to me because they do not understand what is happening to their lives and emotions. Where I fit is to help you understand this transition in your life. One of the key points when looking at bereavement is to understand the stages of grief.

I haven’t seen it all, but I have a lot of experience with bereavement to help you.


Pet Bereavement

I am an animal lover and fully aware of how much our cat, dog or smaller or larger animal can mean to us. We form strong bonds with our pets. You may feel loss when they are gone and that can be devastating, especially if we are on our own. I have trained in pet bereavement counselling to help people get over the death of their loved pet.

Bereavement Counselling and Assessment Sessions

When you first call me, we will have a short assessment of your bereavement related issues. We may need to do this in greater detail at your first session. The objective is for you to feel comfortable with me as your counsellor and to decide if we can work together. If that is the case, we would aim to commence sessions within 2 weeks.

At the first meeting we will go into more depth and may set objectives for our work.

A bereavement counselling therapy session is 50 minutes of counselling with a couple of minutes of introduction. It is known as “an hour”. At our first full session we may well go over the hour.

Having trained as an integrative counsellor I may use multiple therapy techniques in our sessions specifically for your needs. I use person centred, psychodynamic and cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) approaches for counselling.

Half a dozen sessions are normal for a counsellor to achieve the objectives, but this is a guide. Frequently you will have improved sufficiently before then to complete our time together. Occasionally we may require more time.

The therapy fees are here.